C4 Forums | Control4

10.5 Touch Screen and Controllers

Dear Everyone:

I am a newbie to this sight so please forgive the stupid questions.

I recently purchased through a clearance sale

The AVMMC1

The AVMHTC1

The TSM1051

I have wanted a home automation system for so long and good not pass up the deal. As I am waiting for the this equipment to arrive, I contacted a dealer in my area who said he would install the items for me. (As I now realize, the installs are not cheap, oh well this is America) Since I am waiting for the items and the date of install, I have been reading the posts on here which are very interesting by the way.

Now to my questions. Please for give me in advance, if I ask to many.

The equipment I purchased seems to be outdated (I guess that is why they were on clearance) is this a MAJOR issue? or are there software upgrades that the installer/dealer will have?

Also what is/are the major differences to the 10.5 Touch screen version 1 and 2? Is it software or hardware also?

Do I need the audio matrix or amp to power my whole house speakers or can I use my own multi room amp?

Also, I want to begin ripping my CDs (I have approx. 2,000) onto a hard drive, as I spoke to the installer, he recommended a Network hard drive. I forgot to ask him for a recommendation. I looked at LaCie brand, or is Western Digital or Seagate okay? Is there one that works better? Can my purchases work with Usb 2.0? Can I hook up more than one hard drive or just get a 2tb?

Any other advice will be more than well received.

Thanks so much!