C4 Forums | Control4

Free version of composer or something to allow music transfer

stevemcd

Hi I am new to this Control4.

Was wondering if there is a Free version of s/w to allow the transfer of music to my Control 4 500.

I might actually get the Composer HE but want to see if I really need it first.

Thanks

--Steve

There is software included with the HC-500. It is called Easy Importer. You can also use Windows Media Player and copy the files to the hard drive of the 500.

Thanks. Actually I had the HC-500 just installed within the last couple of days... I see no Easy Importer that came with the unit.. The dealer is sort of strange since he gathers all of the boxes at the end to clean-up.. maybe some s/w was there??

He is also attempting to get the Speaker Access points to work.. but not had any luck yet.. They only seem to support WEP and I use WPA which is more secure.. Any idea if they will ever be updated to WPA?

Regarding the s/w - maybe I just need to get the Composer.... I am a s/w coder so do not think I would have any problem with any of it.. (even the pro version! ).

Thanks

-Steve

There is software included with the HC-500. It is called Easy Importer. You can also use Windows Media Player and copy the files to the hard drive of the 500.

Thanks. Actually I had the HC-500 just installed within the last couple of days... I see no Easy Importer that came with the unit.. The dealer is sort of strange since he gathers all of the boxes at the end to clean-up.. maybe some s/w was there??

Thanks

-Steve

Yes, there is a CD with the Easy Importer included with the HC-500. Composer Home Edition can do the task. It also gives you access to a bunch more features and abilities. About the only thing you can't do with Composer HE is change the system design (Add new devices and make connections)