C4 Forums | Control4

Writing serial drivers

Meyerssb

I have limited to no experience with serial, but I am trying to create a serial driver. Maybe someone with serial experience can clear up something for me. In composer when you look up "Guidelines for Entering Serial Driver" it says that it requires a /r to return when programming in ASCII. Is that a carriage return? The reason I ask is this system requires its own carriage return <cr>. Does the \r command only get seen by Control4 or does it pass that on?

Once upon a time I did a little C programming, but it's been too many years and now I remember nothing! Thanks!

Blake

Yes the \r is a carriage return sent to the device. Just insert it in the command line

Ex. "!1SLI10\r" -this command sends a carriage return

ex. "MSSC1,0" 10 -this command sends a line feed(need the space before the 10)

good luck! What driver are you creating?

Jamman

Its for my Zon Audio System. I want to use a C4 MTS to send it out to the Zon Audio router and be able to tell it which zones I want it to play, control the volume, etc. For now it is really just for myself, but I have a couple of clients I would like to use this with - several have expressed interest in Control4 if it can give them expanded control over other systems in their homes, including Zon Audio... so that's where I am at. I have most of the information that Oxmoor gave me entered in for the serial driver, but I am just not quite ready to test it yet. Anyone that has watched Control4's site knows I'm kind of obsessesed with Zon Audio... it's what got me to leave the electrical contracting business. Not necessarily leave EC (my brother does all the EC now) I just changed my focus a little.

Blake