C4 Forums | Control4

Associating a C4 Dimmer Switch to a ZigBee Pro network

clokey

Hi There,

I am new round here, so please be gentle. First some background and then my question. I am a home hobbyist who dabbles with electronics, I already have a ZigBee Pro network in my house based on a Digi ConnectPort X4 that measures inside and outside temperatures. I am a reasonably competent developer and am in to challenges (I know that I can usually buy the thing I am looking to build, but where is the fun in that?)

A friend has lent me a Control 4 Dimmer Switch as my research has shown that it allegedly implements the ZigBee HA profile and therefore I should be able to control it by writing so low level code (which i am in the process of writing). My aim is to write some code that will allow me to control the C4 switch from my zigbee network.

My problem starts with trying to associate the C4 Switch to my ZigBee network. Using the information on the C4 knowledge base I have made the switch forget the ZigBee network that my friend had it connected to (a complete C4 solution) and I am now trying to associate it with my ZigBee network. I am, however, having trouble getting it to associate. Neither the ConnectPort X4 sees the switch and the switch never connects to a network (i get the flashing LED's showing that it is trying to associate and then red to indicate it has failed).

On the Digi forums, someone suggested that the C4 switch has its own association protocol that isn't part of the ZigBee stack but couldn't provide any details. So I was wondering whether someone here had any hints and tips? Both the C4 switch and my zigbee network are running the latest firmwares but there is obviously some issue with the association.

I realise that this isn't the standard control 4 help question so would appreciate any insight people may be able to provide.

Matt