C4 Forums | Control4

Looking For My Next Home Automation System

RJP

So I’m looking to build a new house in the next six months and have started looking at home automation systems. I have some background with control systems as well as a strong IT background. In looking at all the options, from a full Crestron implementation through to some of the simple X10 stuff, nothing jumps out as being a perfect fit with respect to what I am looking for.

What I’m looking to do: Lights, HVAC (heating / air / humidifier), security cameras (recorded / accessible through TVs / Touch-screens), audio (basically audio from different sources to any room); "nice to haves" would be blinds and sprinkler system (would toss these if things got too expensive). With that preamble, I was hoping to ask a few questions about Control4; my intent is not to come across as being negative but to ask about areas where I have concerns; in many cases, I may just not understand things well enough.

1) One of the concerns I have with Control4 is the fact that I have to call a dealer to make changes; specifically add equipment. I say this with the understanding that I can make many other changes without dealer participation. With the assumption that this business model will not be changing anytime soon, can anyone outline the functionality in the Pro software that does not exist in the Home-owner package. In looking through this forum, I remember seeing one post where you needed the Pro software to change the led luminosity on the wall panels; this really made no sense to me but was curious what else was in this category?