C4 Forums | Control4

name and address doesn't populate in Composer

Ctrl4notWkng

Hello,

I have just installed parallels and windows 10 on my mac.

I have now downloaded composer HE which I have a subscription that expires in 2017 . If the name and address on the remote director doesn't populate after refreshing and also trying to "add" a new one- what can I do?

Thanks,

After adding my account name, email address- it initialized etc.- I am connecting through "Remote Director"

Then where it says connect to director- nothing was populated there as it usually did on my other computer.  So, I figured I should "add" a name and address.

I logged into my c4 account online and found this  control4_hc300v2_0 xxxxxxx - so I have added it manually as the name and the 192.XXX as the address.

The error I am getting now with the above is: Could not connect to a Director at 192.XXX on the non-secure port.

Any assistance is much appreciated.

2 hours ago, msgreenf said:

That is the problem. It should be on the same network. Or else you have to use the remote option to

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk

But I mentioned I was using the remote director option - 

there are 2 options- local and remote- I clicked on remote and still have this issue.

set vmware to use BRIDGED networking if possible: 

https://pubs.vmware.com/fusion-6/index.jsp#com.vmware.fusion.help.doc/GUID-84AC2D7D-4A44-4AB6-BAF8-F12C55E71A2F.html

if you use NAT then your broadcast domain changes and composer can't find the director using broadcast discovery. there are some exceptions, this is the simple answer. 

1 hour ago, Christopher Spitler said:

set vmware to use BRIDGED networking if possible: 

https://pubs.vmware.com/fusion-6/index.jsp#com.vmware.fusion.help.doc/GUID-84AC2D7D-4A44-4AB6-BAF8-F12C55E71A2F.html

if you use NAT then your broadcast domain changes and composer can't find the director using broadcast discovery. there are some exceptions, this is the simple answer.