C4 Forums | Control4

HC300 control of audio/video/tv devices

Hello being a newbie I am asking questions before deciding what Control4 hardware to have installed.

Currently I am using Harmony 670 & 520 programmable remotes. They serve my purposes very well in both my living room and bar/rec room. But it doesn't give me the lighting control, music integration, etc. like I want.

I want to start with my rec/bar room which is set up like a sports bar with multiple (3) tv's. I know that I can use the HC300 to control all 3 tv's via ir emitters as well as the audio/video equipment in the room. And that I can add lighting control as well as a USB hard drive for a music library.

With the Harmony remotes you can program multiple pieces of hardware to start up at the same time with one button via Harmony software.

I.E. push the watch movie button and the tv turns on, sets input source, hdmi switch sets input source, audio switch turns on and sets input source, Blu-ray player turns on, Surround sound receiver turns on and sets input source. It also sets up the remote for the most common functions you will need during movie watching. And you can also switch the remote to control each piece of equipment individually.

Here comes my question.... is this what can be done with the Control4 system??? (whew finally got there)

And how much can you program the SR250 remote to do specific functions for each individual piece of hardware?

Thanks in advance!!

Yes, that's exactly what happens when you push the nifty 4 button (in most cases), or any other button can be programmed to do any number of things.

For example, Press the 4 button, and the tv turns on, receiver turns on, tv selects the HC300 and the on-screen navigation comes up.

Custom button Green can be programmed to do the same thing, only start playing a dvd instead, and the system knows that you're current "activity" is the dvd player, so all functions on the remote (as programmed by the dealer) function as such.