C4 Forums | Control4

My First Control4 System

I am about to purchase my first Control4 HC-300 - I have some concerns that I am not using it to the max though. I purchased these items as add on's to my current system (7.1 Intergra DTR-5.9, Paradigm Sorround Sound, Projector,screen, DVD Player, Gaming Systems). My order is for 2 dimmers, thermostat, 400 disc dvd player, LG BlueRay DVD. Should I get IPod Dock? Use a USB Hard Drive with MP3's? Rhapsody? Another speaker point? Is it worth the Security Camera and door bell? Looking for advice on just about anything.

BASICALLY - if you had to do it all over is there something that you couldnt live with. Thanks - Sorry again - I am brand new to this and kind of overwhelmed with the amount this system can do for me.

I'd recommend a HC-500 if you plan on doing a lot of media as it has a built in hdd already.

Door bell is slick as well with an ip camera, highly recommended! ! !

I have over 7 wifi speaker points, which are in bedrooms/bathrooms/and my kitchen and I love them. One thing to keep in mind when doing wifi get a solid access point...

iPod dock will be nice as well, if you just want to use that for media management then you can plug the output into an input on the controller and get a 300 this then allows you to do media management with your iPod.

3 Dimmers and a thermostat... is this going to be spread out throughout the house? If so you have to remember zigbee only works if there are other zigbee devices (powered) near by. So if you are planning on just doing one or two rooms on the same floor with dimmers then you'll be ok. If you spread it out to far you'll have communication issues. Unless you want to do some cool things with the card access contacts :)

iPod dock will be nice as well, if you just want to use that for media management then you can plug the output into an input on the controller and get a 300 this then allows you to do media management with your iPod.