C4 Forums | Control4

NAD T747 - A/V Receiver

Hey all,

I've been checking out this forum for a few months now in anticipation of putting a (small) Control4 system into our new home which is currently under construction and is due to be completed in October.

I am having a hard time finding concrete information on whether or not the NAD T747 would integrate with Control4 properly.

A local dealer has told me that NAD amps don't have discreet ON / OFF, and are therefore not recommended....(he may have been referring to an older model......)

On the other hand, I read on the NAD site that they have RS232 capability and will integrate with Control4, Crestron, AMX etc....

I have an exceptional 'inside line' for NAD gear and have read some amazing things about their sound quality. I am hoping that I can use this unit with Control4 gear. Does anyone know if it will integrate properly? Is there somewhere I can go to find out?

TD

I check the default list of drivers that cones with C4 for NAD. I didn't see a 747, do you mean a 774? There is still not a driver for a 744 but there is a serial driver for the 775 . There are only 8 total drivers listed for the NAD products. Often one can use a driver for a similar model and have no problems controlling the components.

You dealer may be able to create a driver or modify an existing NAD driver to work with you NAD receiver. This work takes time which = $$$. Dealers often also share drivers so you dealer can check the C4 dealer forum to see if anyone has a specific driver for your model. It would be fair to your dealer know what hardware you want to use so he can devise and test drivers.

I have work on system that have NAD components that work well with C4 so I have no doubt that C4 can control the NAD gear.

Edit

I just did a search and see that there is a T747, so disregard my question about the model. My comments about using existing drivers is still valid.

Thanks hennaie. Great info.