C4 Forums | Control4

Inline switches

Hello,

I'm new to C4 and am in the planning stages for my system.

I have a bank of 4 standard switches and what I'm hoping to accomplish is somehow replace 3 of the 4 switches with an inline switch/controller of some kind for each switch that mounts in each of the switches junction boxes so I can cover 3 of the switches up and just have one switch with a keypad to control the other 3 loads.

3 of the 4 switches control dimmable lighting but the 4th switch controls a large load and will require an on/off switch.

I can't find any inline switches but did find an old product that was an inline dimmer, but it's no longer made or available, and I need an on/off non-dimmable switch anyway.

I also found a keypad with a built in dimmer for a load that hooks directly to the dimmer/keypad but I don't see an on/off variant of that keypad/dimmer switch.

Is there any other way I could easily convert that bank of 4 switches into just one with a keypad to control all 4 loads, 3 of them being dimmable and one being on/off only, so I can cover up the other 3 switches?

Thanks for your help in figuring this out.

I found this item, which would be perfect and is exactly what I'm looking for I think, but it's only available in a square/240v UK style and not US 120v!

It's the only thing I can find that is a non-dimmable on/off switch with configurable keypad.

Do they not make a US version of this?

Dual Load Switch - C4-SDSW240-N

Cover up how?

It's more a wiring issue, than a hardware issue.
You need to maintain access to those connections that are made inside the current box.
If any are 3 ways, than that may offer options as well.

Yes, you could use Shelly modules, put a keypad dimmer on one load, put Shelly on the other three, and cover it with a single hole decora plate that is 4 gang size.