C4 Forums | Control4

Video Distribution Questions

dougw246

I am moving from Comcast to DirecTV and need some help understanding video distribution. I have read all of the posts, but still have some questions. I would like to distribute 3 HD boxes to 8 TV's around the house. I do not have the budget to spend thousands of dollars.

1. Can you cascade 4x4 matrix switches via C4 to create 4x7, 4x14, etc? (looking at the Monoprice 4x4 HDMI Matrix)

2. How does C4 select the "proper" input for a given TV? Does C4 know which inputs are in use and select the next available or do you have to know which ones are being watched? Basically how do you not change the kids channel upstairs?

3. Any suggestions on best practices for this?

Thanks.

Hey Dude,

I am relatively new at this, so I figured I would give you some insight as I had questions like this about 2 months ago.

1. Your going to want more than 4 inputs. It doesnt seem like it now,but your going to want it. Bluray player, Media players ( this is a must have if you have kids), plus cable boxes - go with an 8X8 matrix. ( it doesnt have to be an HDMI matrix, start of with streaming HD via component, but make sure you wire enough to grow into HD later on. (2cat6 lines for HDMI in future)

2. I believe the TV's switch imputs and power toggle via IR. ( make sure you wire a cat5 for this to all TV's as well

3. I would talk to a dealer heck I talked to about 10 in my area until I found the right team. This is the most important step of C4. This can be an incredibly "buggy" system, its takes a lot of "tweeking" to get it to perfection. Your going to want a dealer you know will be there when your in a jam. I can not emphasize enough how important your dealer is.

so in short - find an awesome dealer in your price range, look into a media player ( i use C4 media player, but a lot of guys use the EVA9150), and get as many inputs as you can afford.