C4 Forums | Control4

A newbie needs some help

Steph0100

I just came from a local C4 dealer and I'm a little confused by what was said. My goal is to have all of my video files (.avi) stored on a NAS in my basement, and then stream these files on any of 3 TV's throughout the house.

Once I download my content to the NAS, I want to be able to immediately stream the content (multiple content simultaneously to different TV's), and I was told that before that could be done, I had to use the C4 PC software to sync the content to C4?? He told me that he could program it so that it would sync at a certain time every day automatically, however he said that this sync had to be done before I could play my media.

As I indicated above, I am a total newbie to C4, however once the video files are on the NAS, shouldn't I be able to access them immediately without having to sync anything? Why would I have to complete this extra step considering C4 is already connected to the NAS, and therefore should just be able to read it as is? Perhaps I'm missing something?

Thanks!

Depends on how much new content was added, having it set to scan at a certain time of the day is a good idea especially when you aren't going to use the new content right away, then you wouldn't need to scan unless you added something after the last scan.

Scans are very fast now. I just scanned one of my libraries which has 430 movies, and four were new. It took about 8 seconds.

It should probably be mentioned that scans are not done in composer itself anymore, rather they are done in the master controller IIRC, so in addition to the smaller / more efficient media DB in use on 2.0, it also takes advantage of the processor of the HC1000 if applicable.

Thanks everyone for your help. Ok, this will undoubtedly be a stupid question, however like I said, I am a newbie so I thank you in advance for your patience.