C4 Forums | Control4

Can't access shared audio folder in Windows 7

I just bought a house with Control4 partly integrated and the dealer's programmers can't seem to connect to a shared music folder on my Windows 7 machine. From what I can tell, the system is using an HC-300 controller, but I'm new to this whole thing so I don't even know if I'm reading that right. The programmers suggested buying a NAS or connecting a USB device directly to the controller, but since I just bought a house and I already have to add to the base Control4 system, I'm hesitant to start throwing more money around if I can avoid it.

I've adjusted all the settings I can think of, I've even created a separate user specifically for the share, and nothing seems to work. I'm not usually so technologically inept (I'm actually a software developer by profession), but this whole thing has me stumped. What am I missing here?

thecodeman, Thanks for the reply.

I don't have any software firewalls running on that machine. The audio share has been set up for a while and is probably the only share I have that "Everyone" can access since it's shared between several different operating systems on the network. That's the main reason I thought this would work as well as a separate NAS or USB drive.

Maybe it's genuinely not possible to get the controller connected to the computer, I thought that was just the programmer's way of pushing me off.

I saw that post yesterday and switched some settings around, but it's still not working. The hardest part right now is I have almost no information about what the programmer is seeing so I have no idea if I'm helping or not, or even if I'm providing enough/correct information. The system is fantastic otherwise, I'd just like to have networked audio too.

From the installer's perspective, the Network File Share connection asks for:

path: \\ip or server name\share

user name: if applicable

password: if applicable

workgroup: if applicable