C4 Forums | Control4

Help needed - Thermostat

ebarak

Hi,

I my dealer asked me to use an HVAC technician to install the Control4 Thermostat. I have a carrier unit and the current thermostat is Honeywell Focus Pro 6000. When the technician came today and tried to install the Control4 unit something did not work right: the HVAC will start working and suddenly stop for no reason (did not reach the required temperature); after setting the temperature to 74 it suddenly jumped to 85 and etc.

The Technician never install similar unit in the past (I probably should have done a better job in finding the right guy:(). Eventually he reinstall the Honeywell unit and now I am looking for advice as to what may have gone wrong.

Did anyone encounter this kind of problem in the past? can it be a problem with the Control4 unit? maybe something was not right with the installation? I am not an expert but it seems that he connected the wires correctly and kept the set up on Power Stealing and the remaining default setting which match my HVAC unit (i.e., Conventional and etc).

I will appreciate any suggestion.

Effi

ILove C4,

Sorry but I re-postED my message from yesterday in the General Discussion after noticing that it also used for this type of questions and has more traffic...sorry for the confusion:D

I will appreciate any help while I am looking for another HVAC person who install C4 Thermostat before.

Regards,

Do not use power stealing, use a common wire connection.

Power stealing causes funky issues with some modern HVAC systems. The "stealing" causes the relays on the system to have issues which is probably the exact problem you are experiencing. I have a new high efficiency system on one floor that was very flaky when set to power stealing. Once I ran a common wire, it works without any problems.