C4 Forums | Control4

Whole-automation based on CAT5 cable

Zer0fun

I have been scouring the net for days now looking for any good information about building a whole-house automation system based on CAT5 or better cable.

I'm not eager to implement x10 or radio-based systems and would prefer to stay away from closed standards.

Please point me in the right direction !

Thank you!

um..

I am no pro here.. but when you say based on CAT5 cable... i don't think that question makes sense. CAT5 is just cable. You can do many different things with it. For the most part people refer to Ethernet networking or IP communication when they speak of CAT5 or better... so is that what you mean, home automation based on TCPIP communication, which can work over CAT5 or wirelessly?

I could be off base.. let a smarter guy correct me. But that's what I thought when I read your post.

you can distribute audio and video over cat5 when used in conjunction with balums - HDMI, component video, composite video, analog audio and digital audio

cat5 can also be used for IR control, 232 control, and TCPIP communication.

One thing to keep in mind, is that when possible running an actual HDMI cable or RGB cable is more reliable and should always be considered before using a balum

New construction instalation here...

I would LOVE to wire it up as pure IP network, but again I would prefer not to use any sort of wireless systems. My question was a bit more general, I guess:

I need to run cable. I have no immediate plans of hooking up any equipment to it right away, but will in the next year or so.