C4 Forums | Control4

Ideas on setting up a new system

Talbee

Hi Everyone, I am new to Control4 and pretty excited that I might be able to do what I have always wanted with my Media and Home:). I have read quite a bit on the forum, and thank you for all your posts. I need some guidance as to best/simplest way to set up a control4 system, so if anyone can help it would be much appreciated and I will post my do and don'ts etc. once I have the system up and running. I haven't purchased the Control4 unit yet, but am leaning towards the HC300C.

Here is what I currently have:

Main room

Sony CX7000ES megachanger

Harmon Kardon AVR85 (looking at a Denon 3311)

Samsung LED 7000

DirecTV HD DVR

iPhone and iPad to control the system.

Second Room:

Insignia TV

Bose AV28 Media Center

Third Room:

Outdoor wireless speakers

Here is what I would like to do:

Main Room:

Put all my DVD movies in the Sony DVD

Put all my kids movies on a Hard Drive

Put all Music on a hard drive. Use the same Hard drive to back up my 2 computers

Play music in 2 other rooms (hopefully wirelessly)

Dim lights

Control Thermostat

Lock doors

open close garage.

Second Room:

Play music from the main room/system on this system if possible.

Dim lights

Third Room:

Play music from the main system on these speakers (could be the same music as the main room).

Dim Lights

AND OF COURSE I WOULD LIKE TO PLAY ALL OF THIS WITH THE ONE REMOTE OR IPHONE (i am sure that is a given but just saying)!!

I have been to 3 different Best Buy stores and none of them are very knowledgable, so if anyone has any suggestions on how to set this up and what components to buy, it would be much appreciated.

I will have a professional install the system, I am just looking to see what some experienced people would suggest so I don't set it up and then say I shoulda....

Thanks.

Wow big list to read..