C4 Forums | Control4

In Wall Component Box

ILoveC4

Hey guys, I'm on the hunt for a few boxes to mount in the wall behind some TV's. Something that I can install an outlet in to, and a balun, and have room for an HC250 down the road if I so desire.

Something like this:

recessed-outlet-box-behind-wall-mounted-hdtv-carlon_full.jpeg

But that seems a little small. This unit is bigger, and is what I'm leaning towards right now:

DSC_2499.JPG

There is also this one:

59a1c060ada02b672567f110.L.jpg

I've never used a product like this before...is there anything I should watch out for (besides the obvious will it fit in the wall) when selecting one? Any brands stand out as being much better than the others?

Thanks in advance guys...I need to make a decision today.

Dan,

Did you end up doing the Snap or Hydraconnect HDMI matrix?

I haven't bought one yet! I am likely going to go with the Snap A/V unit because of the HUGE difference in what I can buy them for. The Hydraconnect is sweet, but I don't need some of it's features (I wouldn't use the built in audio matrix), and I think the SnapA/V will serve me just as well. I'm just eagerly waiting reviews from the people that are using them.

I'll go revive that thread.

Sanus LR-1A? Not exactly what you are looking for but adaptable.

I couldn't see spending $150 each for that unit to "adapt" to what the others will do for a fraction of the price. Is there something special about that unit? The most expensive of the ones I pictured is the 2nd one, and it's less than 1/3rd that price.

Honestly, picks 2 and 3 in post #1 are not what I'd be looking to do. What are trying to do? 250 I see but what about power conditioning, is everything going through panel jacks or will you have flying leads?

So you have a mount system already? If yes, then pass it up. I installed many of these and they hold a power conditioner and cabling well.