C4 Forums | Control4

Apple FrontRow & Control4

ringlis

Has anyone integrated Apple's FrontRow software (i.e., running on a Mac Mini, iMac, MacBook) with a Home Controller? FrontRow uses Apple's small white remote control to load DVD, stored video files, photos & music. The remote is IR so, given the Mac was already on, it should be feasible to control using an IR relay but I don't see any drivers for Apple computers in composer .

I appreciate that I could build the driver but I'm very new to Control4 and aren't sure how much time it would take to build the driver and I'm also concerned there are other barriers I'm not anticipating.

Any help or advice appreciated!

The driver should be easy enough to build - not many buttons on the Apple remote! However, the only catch I see is that you would need proper video distribution such that you could pull up the Apple display on any TV in the house in order to see and select the music you'd like to play. Also, you would lose out on the functionality of viewing and selecting music via a MTS or remote. If you are doing this for music distribution only (not pulling up videos) then you may want to just consider the C4 iPod dock - which I believe does video as well.....

Thanks for the feedback BTL and AA!:):) Nice to know the codes are the same, looking closer the remotes are the same across Mac products so that should make it easy to control any Apple product that has IR.

The Mac Mini would primarily be a video solution as I think we'd map the client's iTunes folder via a local Cat5e for integration with an HC-300 for music. We're using the Sony Video Switcher to distribute video throughout the house.