C4 Forums | Control4

Best solution for viewing MP4's on TV via control4

scthomp4267

Hi all.

Kind of a newbie here. I have a Sony 777 and have run out of DVD slots, so I've been actively converting my DVD's to MP4. I would like to be able to access the MP4's via Control4 just like the DVD's. I've been reading alot of the posts about the EV9150, and seems like it's not very reliable solution. I've also been reading some of the posts for some of the more expensive solutions, but I can't bring myself to pay minimum $3,500. Anyone have any solution recommendations, or anything outside fo the box that would be a great expandable solution? I'm currently running a cat5 network with 3.5tb of NAS connected to a Control4 media controller. Definitely prefer hardware that is easily integrated and accessible via C4 Director.

Apple TV?

Netgear EVA9150?

Buffalo Linktheater HD?

Curious as to why you picked mp4? I rip DVDs as .iso files, and while this takes up the most space, it's the easiest to do and keeps the disc information exactly as on the DVD, so you're more likely to pick up the coverart info automagically. DVD .iso files also playback great with the 9150, and I'm even able to stream them over a wireless brige over 300' to another building off of a NAS.

Use DVDFab5 to rip DVDs to an ISO, then get a Popcorn Hour or similar Network Media Tank for playback. That is probably the cheapest and easiest solution, but be warned the interface of the NMTs sucks unless you install something like Yet Another Movie Jukebox on a PC that is always on. Also, you will not get coverart on your touchscreens with this solution. If you want coverart then you need to either go with the netgear 8000 or 9150 or an XBMC PC (search here for threads). Im not sure if the 8000 can play ISO files.

The 8000 should be able to handle dvd .iso files, it was HD media that was lacking due to insufficient processing power.