C4 Forums | Control4

XBMC / Boxee and custom C4 Phython Plugin - Media Bliss

I have been working on a little project for the past couple of weeks and I am wondering if anyone was interested in my project. I need to get this checked into the BOXEE project and then you can pull from the SVN source and have fun.

C4 has a serious hole in its media center capability. So, let’s fix that on the cheap.

I am a current developer for the XBMC project and switched over to the BOXEE project last December after I got laid off from C4. So, of course, I started to work on a side project to integrate my C4 system into a real media center application and replace the tired looking Navigator and slow media indexing that is currently offered. I have a MacMini that this is all run off of. This also works on low end PC’s and Modified Xbox’s from Microsoft. I like the Mac Mini as I can decode HD H.264 content. Tasty

XBMC Project = http://xbmc.org/

Boxee Project = http://www.boxee.tv/

So what does it do?

Well, I wrote a XBMC Python plug-in that talks directly to “director” on the HC-XXX or HTC. Currently, this works with Ember and ZigBee Pro. As the TCP stream to Director is pretty simple to duplicate as it is simple text formatted as XML. In the next version – I am going to not even use Director and talk directly to the Zserver (this is only in the PRO version because the new zserver is muti-threaded)

Currently I have working:

-- Pulls current project from HTC/HCXXX and parses it

-- Light control per room

-- Execute Light Groups – (Scenes)

-- Polling has been removed so faster response times from nodes

-- Basic Action Scripts (turn on amp when music starts)

Things I am working on:

-- Audio – Volumes for the 16/4 Channel amps

-- Change source matrix on 16/4 amps

-- Audio Presets for music types

-- Project changes back to director (adding new devices)

-- Timed events

-- Action Scripts – Programming actions based on what you are doing in XBMC/Boxee