C4 Forums | Control4

Composer

Tokead

I'm new to C4 with a HC300c, running v2.0 and an 8 zone audio amp.

I'm muddling my way through a learning curve, trying to figure out why it's not doing what I want or thought it should do and looking in this forum for answers while I wait for my dealer to get back to me.

One of the things I've observed in this forum is that lots of people have a copy of Composer rather than just HE. How do people get a copy of this, and is there someone who could send me a copy - if that's an option?

There are only three versions of Composer.

Composer Media Edition - Free, available to download at www.control4.com. This only allows people to manage media libraries.

Composer Home Edition - Comprehensive version that allows programming customization, etc... It is licensed, by your dealer, and sells for $149.

Composer Pro - This is the same as Home Edition except it includes the tools required for initial setup and driver creation. This is not available at any price, and is only available to dealers.

ComposerHE allows you to do just about everything, with the major exclusions being changing connections, modifying drivers and adding equipment.

Thanks for the responses.

I have a copy of HE. It was just from reading posts on here that I was curious how people had copies of Composer, and if it was an option.

I'm running a Synology NAS drive, which my dealer mapped to a specific folder containing my music files. I am looking for the ability to change this folder as I keep my movies in a different folder, and I want to include those: currently, for the sakes of playing, I've put copies of some movies into my music folder. Not an efficient method.

I have no interest in modifying drivers as I would bugger them up. My dealer hasn't provided an orientation of the system or HE, so I'm shooting in the dark trying to learn.

That's what we're here for, to help.