C4 Forums | Control4

Working with dry contacts

At the end of this year I’ll be buying or building a new house.

Wife has let it be known she absolutely hates “smart switches.” Currently using Legrand Radiant devices linked to HomeKit; she doesn’t like the push button type of switch that all smart switches are. She wants latching type on/off; something that “clicks.”

Anyway, I’m an electrical contractor. My plan moving into a new home was to use a combination of Legrand WiFi Adorne and Legrand Vantage Adorne keypads integrated into Control4, but that’s now out of the question. I’m intent on using Adorne devices (again, I’m an EC, I buy a lot of Legrand), so I’m looking at either the Control4 DCIM4 module or using the Vantage equivalent. My question is on programming ....

Scenario is living room & kitchen area. Let’s say there are 6 separate lighting loads here, and we set it up where closing the contact on the DCIM4 turns all of them on to a preset scene. Now let’s say somewhere in the room there is an actual scene controller, and we use that to make a scene change. If she hits the wall switch again to open the contacts on the DCIM4, can it then turn all of those loads off if the scene has been altered?

Basically it needs to always be able to turn all lights on and the back off when selected. Because more than likely what’s going to happen is I’ll use all of the vantage panelized lighting products so I can use Adorne scene controllers, but I want Control4 handling all the scenes. Will be using 0-10v dimmable fixtures and some tunable white. I’m not against using Control4 panelized lighting, but I will be using the vantage Adorne keypads and I felt like keeping all of the lighting controls within the vantage system is probably a better setup than mix & match controls and modules between brands.