C4 Forums | Control4

My HC1000 took a major crap out on me today.

My customers system is totally off line. I can not connect to it thru composer 2.0 or thru My.control4.com. I can't download the project either. I did the press and hold reset on it while replugging in the power cord. But a no go. I can not even Ping it by its IP address. Called Tech support today and they think I should reset the machine back to factory spec. by flashing the firmware back to 1.8.2. This is a new install as of 1 month ago and has been bullet proof since. I have never done this before. Is there instructions on how to do this and can somebody post a link or just write it out. I will need instructions on what to do once I somehow get the old firmware on a flash drive. So where do I find this firmware????

Does anybody think this will fix the issue, or should I just request a replacement HC1000. But if I do that does that affect my 3 ipad licenses and Rhapsody and 4sight I have on this system. I am hoping to not spend more than half a day on this because I can not bill for this. It is not my customers fault that his brand new system just crashed. Thanks in advance.

-Larry

You can get the software to make a recovery stick in the dealer section of the Control4 website. Goto Support and then software updates. Once in the software updates section scroll down to Control4 recovery utility and download the program. Once downloaded run it and basically follow the instructions if you have difficulties the documentation is in the software updates section as well. Once created insert the USB stick in the USB port of the HC1000 and cycle the power to run the utility on the controller.

It is really easy, just as described above. Once the lights are on solid, remove the USB stick and power cycle the controller again.