C4 Forums | Control4

SSL issue. but its not the wrong time or need for a patch. (HC250 2.5.3.429171-res)

Hi all,

Complete newbie here. Just started using Control4 with a company and have done my associates installer cert.

I have been given a used HC250 to start my career. First thing I did was put it back to a factory restore (by the pin reset on the back) to get rid of the old dealers information.

It got set back to OS 2.5.3.429171-res

Since restoring it I haven't been able to connect to it properly via ComposerPro. I am using the correct version (2.5.3). 

The issue I am getting is "could not connect to director on [IP ADDRESS] on the secure port." it then says that the common cause for this is that the time is wrong on the director or my PC and allows me to connect to it on the unsecure port. Which is lovely, but useless as it doesn't allow me to make any edits to the project. I get the error message "project locked. the system is most likely being updated. modifications cant be made." I know the system isn't updating as when it connects on the unsecure port it warns me that I wont be able to make modifications to the project.

I have connected to the director on system manager 2.10.5 and set the time to be correct and it matches my PCs time, there may be possibly up to a 1 second difference. the reason for using SM 2.10.5 instead of 2.5.3 is that 2.5.3 doesn't allow me to change the time on the director.