C4 Forums | Control4

Switches vs. Dimmers

jasonh

I'm new to Control4 products so if this answer is obvious, I apologize. My installer is recommending that I use dimmers in all of the light locations, whether I want to actually use the dimming functionality or not. He said he would just make the dimmer act as a switch when programming the environment. I was on-board with this until I was looking at the iPhone/ iPad app and noticed how the switches were easier to turn on/ off, and the dimmers were more of a sliding interaction. The installer informed me that I would not really be using the iPhone app as much and should think of it completely different then when I was playing the mControl.

2 Questions:

1. Would you recommend dimmers in all locations, or just where dimming needs to take place?

2. Can you make the dimmers appears as switches on the iPhone with some background programming on the Control4?

Thanks in advance!

2 Questions:

1. Would you recommend dimmers in all locations, or just where dimming needs to take place?

2. Can you make the dimmers appears as switches on the iPhone with some background programming on the Control4?

1: In my opinion, yes. I have several switches instead of dimmers, and wish I had done all dimmers.

2: Unknown if you can make them appear as switches, but you don't need to slide the lights on the app. You can just tap it, and it will turn on/off as necessary. sliding is only if you want to dim.

Thanks

D.

I disagree - there are many places where a switch works better -

1. I have gas lamps - they have an auto-igniter on them - a dimmer would not be good if someone accidentally held the up or down button or on the iphone

2. LEDs are particularly not happy with dimmers at times - I have LEDs for floor lighting in my media room and they need switches

3. all my fans are on switches - dimmers tend to make the fans hum more I control the speed and direction on the fan and simply turn it on or off with the switch.