C4 Forums | Control4

Replacement of C4 thermostats

The C4 thermostats will not work properly with my HVAC system. I have two HVAC units each with multiple zones. One is single stage and the other is dual stage and both are variable speed. Remote sensors are used for each of the zones. All thermostats are mounted in the attic directly to the units. The system is then controlled/adjusted through C4.

Some of this is above my pay-grade, but the problem seems to be that the C4 stats will not work with variable speed systems. That is not exactly it, but suffice it to say that C4 says they won't work with my system because of an issue with the stats not communicating the variable speed portion of the system correctly.

I'd like to control the temperature through C4. I need a stat that will integrate with C4 and control a dual stage, variable speed Water Furnace GEO heat pump. Any suggestions...??

Thanks,

Douglas

I'm not an expert on HVAC either, however, in my own search for a thermostat that should work for my system (traditional gas furnace and a/c), I ended up choosing the Radio Thermostat CT80.

Their website (radiothermostat.com) has the manual which does explain wiring from stat to HVAC systems with heat pumps - now, I'm not sure if that is the same wiring to the thermostat that can handle your "water furnace GEO heat pump" - but take a look and best to confer with your HVAC installer. The CT80 has a wifi module that can interface with control4 via an extra vegetables driver and app.

One more thing, although I haven't hooked my system up yet (ETA in May 2013) because my builder is slow as molasses..., the conversations I had with the HVAC guys doing that work at my new house, says that the Variable speed fan is managed by the electronics on the furnace and NOT the thermostat itself. The thermostat is just suppost to make the contacts (call for heat or a/c) based on temp set points.

Good luck.