C4 Forums | Control4

Multi tuner help

jem

Im new to the multi tuner and I'm looking for help understanding it. I want to use a multi tuner for 6 zones.

How do you select the unused side of the tuner?

If tuner 2 is in use does it know to bind to the Tuner 1?

What happens when both tuners are in use and there is a request from another zone?

Thanks

Exactly how you stated it. If tuner 1 is in use and another zone calls for tuner, it will use tuner 2. If both are being used and someone calls for it, it will take over one of the tuners.

Remember, there are only two outputs for the tuner, so you will be limited to only two zones listening to something different.

I'm not sure that's right. When you add the C4 tuner to the project, by default, it adds "tuner 1" and "tuner 2" not a generic "c4 tuner"...so you would have to hide one in certain rooms and un-hide it in others...someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's how it works...yeah, I'm looking at my project now, that's how it's setup..

I'm not sure that's right. When you add the C4 tuner to the project, by default, it adds "tuner 1" and "tuner 2" not a generic "c4 tuner"...so you would have to hide one in certain rooms and un-hide it in others...someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's how it works...yeah, I'm looking at my project now, that's how it's setup..

That is a good question. They way my dealer has it setup is that in the majority of the rooms it just shows up as "Tuner" and I was assuming it grabs either 1 or 2 but not sure I've paid enough attention. However, in my main theater room, he does have it setup as Tuner 1, Tuner 2, and a whole seperate Tuner 3 because of some integration we are doing with my surround sound system.

I believe the XM option is $199.

Hammer - Tuner is all you should see - you shouldn't need to specifically pick which tuner you use etc... let the system do that for ya.