C4 Forums | Control4

C4-DS2FM door station and 4sight

geckoutca

Question

I am fairly new to Control4 as I just had my home done with a dolby atmos system, game system room, 15 light switches, garage door, and front door lock as well.  i use the 4sight app then to control / opperate from anywhere in the world.

currently i have positioned the "doorbird" door station on my system and must admit am struggling with this item.  at home on my own internet it works pretty solid but if i am off wifi and away from home it works maybe 1/15 times if that...  hit or miss at best.

(long story here) I do have the  C4-DS2FM  door station that is not set up as i was told i would have to buy several control4 touch stations to do anything with it.  however browsing around a bit it seems there may be some way of actually using this without having to purchase several touch stations.

my question is basically, can i use this door station with the app / 4sight and both at home and away, use my phone or ipad or computer to view what is happening at my door when someone approaches / rings the bell?

thanks in advance

Bo

14 answers to this question

Correct, you don't actually need a tablet/touchscreen to use it.  However, you can't stream video or sound to the mobile apps. You can set push notifications and a photo capture, but I do not believe there are any 3rd party drivers that allow for streaming the audio or video.

The Houselogix driver for DoorBird is limited to the extend that you can see video on the C4 touch screens but only a limited amount of them since it only sends out a few streams and one is to their mobile platform.  So maybe its like you can see it on the doorbird mobile app (not 4sight/c4 app) and then i think 2 or 3 touch screens in your house.