C4 Forums | Control4

External music

Franklin-Sam

Question

I am looking to connect my Control4 unit to my Windows PC. The PC has a ton of music which I ripped off of CDs that I own and I would like to create a playlist that can be used on my Control4. Both the PC and the Control4 are on the same network and if necessary I could do an Ethernet connection if needed.

Can this be done? If yes what would I need in order to make it happen?

Thanks

PS this is my first post on the forum. I'm new to Control4 but have a background in managing computers.

4 answers to this question

C4 is able to pull music off of a network share, but there are limitations:

-Samba is needed, may still be v1, maybe v2

-This is based 'old style' in that it is CD library based - it won't import playlists as such (though it allows playlists to be created in it's own setup)

Doing this off of a windows PC can be ... troublesome ... at best - this is truly more intended for a small NAS.

Alternatively, and often easier, you can put a USB stick (or externally powered drive) into the back of any controller. Easiest is likely to put an empty one in, ensure it is FAT 32 formatted, and a simple as it gets (no encryption options, auto back up etc). It'll actually auto load the driver after a few seconds for a USB stick, and you can manage music from there one, using ComposerHE to load the music onto the driver.

Again, the interface is a bit archaic in that it truly revolves around 'CDs' - not 'single songs' for it's indexing, but it does work reliably.

You could also look at DLNA option.

related questions (sorry for the thread creep): I have a Salk Soundstream music server (basically a small Unix computer with multiple outputs including ethernet, optical, etc). What would be the best way to integrate that into a C4 system?