C4 Forums | Control4

New Router

brucecampbell

Hi all, I'm after some advice on a new router for my home.

I currently have an ASUS RT-AC66U which I've had for about 15 years.
I'm experiencing a lot of internet drop off, so I think a replacement is worth a shot.

I'm not very experienced or knowledgeable with routers, so any advice would be appreciated.

My current set up is:

Fibre Internet comes into a Modem/Router the ISP provided me.
ASUS is plugged directly into the Modem via WAN port
ASUS is plugged into a switch via LAN port
All hardwired devices are patched back to the switch via a home hub/patch panel.

Cheers.

Doesn't surprise me with Asus..

Firstly, you want everything to be

<Router> -> Switch -> Wifi + everthing else

Even if the router has wifi, turn it off..

If you have other unifi equipment, I recommend unifi UDM (or similar) because its relatively simple and powerful. But works a lot better with unifi switches / AP's

If you want something more technical which is affordable, Mikrotik. I wouldn't recommend this though unless you're technical. And, whilst its stable, and has some interesting features, its more designed for WISP's (but good if you're a tinkerer). It's not really optimised for this kind of environment imho (more enterprise). Fortinet / Access Networks would be better though

If you want something which is better supported by control4 which is cheaper, Araknis. Or if you have other araknis equipment

IF you want something which is better supported by Control4, which is more premium, Access Networks

If you want something higher end, which is an alternative, Fortinet.

If you want something stupidly secure but inconvenient, Watchguard with subscription

Stuff to avoid:

- Mesh routers in particular: (Google Routers, and Netgear Orbi primarily).  

- "Gaming" routers

- Wifi 7 routers at the moment.. Unless they're specifically Business / enterprise grade (by a credible company)