C4 Forums | Control4

Roon & Control 4 - Odd Integration?

PaulAV9

Hi, I am new to control 4. I had it installed last week. I previously had a harmony system for 10 over years. My question is on how the installer integrated Roon. I am not happy with how it is set up but wanted to inform myself a bit before contacting the installer.

System details for Roon and this music listening function: Roon Nucleus as my core/server. Bluesound node as my endpoint going into my Anthem AVM 90 via digital coax. 

On my Harmony I had a simple activity set up that would start the AVM, Switch inputs to the Node Coax, I would then control Roon with my iPad (selecting music, play pause...). I could only use the Harmony remote for volume, (no play/pause, skip song). Now with C4 I can control those additional functions but I dont care for how it is set up and while talking with the installer he had no idea what roon was so I am thinking there may have been a different or additional driver that should have been installed for possibly better integration.

My issue is it takes several clicks to get to where I want to be and most annoying it always auto plays on start up. So a song starts sometimes pretty cranked up and its jarring and is the last song that was played where ever i left off. I think things could be better. I think this was set up as a bluesound node "activity" and not roon. (I use the word activity because I am using harmony lingo as I do not know the proper C4 term).

Here are screens of the 3 steps it takes to get music going.

image.thumb.jpeg.c709393419fca1fc49789b001a15ae6a.jpegimage.thumb.jpeg.404fb3cca5550d3584a18f29a9f32ed4.jpegimage.thumb.jpeg.a580ea756b3029d53b18e965145d7ba2.jpeg

Then it auto plays whatever song was played last where ever it left off.