C4 Forums | Control4

Installation

bjeff

I am having a new home built and my wife and I have settled on the Control4 system for various reasons. 1st being the cost and it provides the functionality we are looking for. One issue I am having is finding an installer or dealer in the area that I am comfortable with. This has become such a large challenge I am even thinking about trying to go through the steps to become a dealer myself to get around the people I have had to deal with.

This brings me to my biggest question, ever dealer I have approached about just purchasing the equipment from them and doing a self installation, says it can't be done. So I am posing the question to the people on the forum? Can someone effectively do a self installation of a control4 system successfully or is there software and tools that will not be available to them to be successful?

I have been a network engineer for years and I understand their is a learning curve, but please let me know your thoughts.

Bryan

http://www.thesohoshop.com

You definitely don't want to do your own system. Even though they do run on a standard network there are so many intricacies of the system you will drive yourself nuts trying to work everything out.

Find a cool dealer that will let you learn as they program it so you can tweak it yourself.

I agree with Dan.

Although you may be a network engineer, that doesn't mean you're also a multi-room audio expert, a home theater install expert, familiar with lighting and HVAC, and security, which are all areas that a Control4 dealer needs to be quite familiar with.

Also, dealers are required to take a 3 day training course at Control4 before they are allowed to sell the equipment. This is typically *on top* of Home Automation / installation expertise the dealer already has.