C4 Forums | Control4

Switch Question

Does a switch need to be identified by composer before working as just a plain switch with no programming. I installed one for a gas fireplace tonight and it doesn't light up or do anything. I'd like to make sure the switch is not broken before having my dealer come out to set it up. As always thanks for your help

Well I fix motorcycle for living so I am somewhat handy. Having said that I am no electrician. I hooked green to green, white to white and black to red. I would have no doubt that I got it wrong or messed the switch up. Anyone feel free to tell me I have no idea what I'm doing.

You can't necessarily match colors. The switches come with a wiring diagram that should be followed, and you should always use a voltmeter to figure out which wires in your house are hot, neutral, load, ground, etc. Trust me, I learned the hard way, banging my head on the wall late at night trying to install one switch.

Be careful with fireplace swithes. Most are low voltage and you can not use a C4 switch. I would suggest leaving the existing switch and connect low voltage wire directly to the fireplace and to the C4 controller relay.

BTW: We programmed the remote control # & * buttons to turn the fireplace on and off. We also programmed a time limit in case someone forgets to turn off the fireplace.

good luck

Many fireplaces are wired with a light gauge wire from the electronically controlled gas valve to a standard wall switch and use low voltage to control the gas valve.

I have used a combination of a C4 2 button keypad and a card access relay to control the fireplace in this situation. Remember the C4 2 button can run off of 30 volt DC. All you need to do is to install a C4 2 button in place of the existing switch and power the 2 button with the 30 volt transformer that C4 sells.

Take a card access relay and wire it to the low voltage contact in the electronic gas valve.