C4 Forums | Control4

NAS Recommendation?

mcC4

So I am very new to the home automation scene and would like to purchase a NAS storage drive to store all of my music, movies, etc. I am not your typical home automation client, however, and do not have very much money to spend on this... school is expensive ha. So I was hoping someone with experience could be help me understand what necessities to look for in a NAS drive in order to get the biggest bang for the smallest buck.

I already have a 2 TB Western Digital external hard drive that I *believe* can be used as a NAS device if I get a modem with a usb port - is this correct? If so that may be the least expensive option. Anyway, thanks for helping a noob.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I STILL don't use a NAS :rolleyes:

But I do use several of those WD Green external drives you have and they have NEVER failed. Outstanding product (and quiet too)....

So why don't you get one of those with an ethernet connection....I'm pretty sure WD make NAS drives with the same green discs in them...

They do sell wireless modems that have usb plugs on them that let you access your harddrive. I have not really played with this system yet, so not much insight. But you can also make a NAS box out of an old pc. Then you could just convert your external drive to a internal drive, which is very easy, just take it apart. As a student you can go online and download windows server 2011 for free.

Synology.. they have the best NAS for the money. It's amazing what it can do out of the box and the huge variety of the units they make is great because they have one for every-bodies price range.. I have 3 of them myself.

Synology looks very nice...but still a bit pricey for my budget believe it or not. Unless I am missing something it looks like you will start around $300. Maybe if I can't be spending that much I shouldn't be doing this at all, ha.