C4 Forums | Control4

Why is my thermostat program not working??

Hi

Newbie here. I have a wireless thermostat installed but cannot get the programming to work. Using my TV navigator, I have defined the temperatures required throughout the day. (This is correct yes? i.e. it's not like a conventional program where I simply state the on and off times of the boiler in a day?)

I highlight all of the days of the week, making the box next to each day green, and my programmed timings are shown in the detail. But then when I come out and go back into programming, the boxes are off again. Have 'enabled' within the programming too.

What am I doing wrong?

And then, once I have managed to make the program stay live, what settings do I leave my termostat on? Leaving it on 'Heat' keeps the boiler running constantly, but do figure that's because the program isn't active.

Thanks

Arjay..

Hi

I have a thermostat as well. Since the day I got it installed, it has never worked correctly. At points it will work flawlessly for months, then just stop. Wont turn heat off regardless of what temperature is set. Wont turn A/C off until it's a fridge in my house, and wont respond to my program. Magically this lasts for amonth or two and then starts to work fine, could be for months more. Most recently mine has reached the desired temperature and then decideds to cycle the fan on and off for abut 45 minutes? I have an excellent installer/programmer that simply stes "yup thats what they do"

Unfortunately this is my experience. My opinion is the thermostat to be unreliable, just doesn't work right, using old technology and is way over priced.

I have three heat pumps.

I have three main thermostats and two additional "zones" that control heat or cooling based on opening or shutting a duct.

I have had TWO thermostats that went bad. I now have 5 that work flawlessly - they do NOT work like your installer is telling you - that is a defective or improperly set up or installed thermostat.