C4 Forums | Control4

Getting an understanding of the ART of the POSSIBLE with C4

jwoodward

I am a developer in a previous live; now I manage technology for my company, so I have a good level of skill in development.

I am trying to understand the ART of the POSSIBLE in respect to programming my C4 system. My installer will do the work, I just want to present a good design...

What I have not found is good information on the programming events/styles etc that C4 is capable of, so that I can start to think of a design that pushes the envelope.

Any ideas how I can gen-up to get this info ? as the composer s/w is not available to customers.

Are there any good sites (other than this one), which provide an insight into what is possible with programming ?

Jon

Jon-

While Composer Pro is not available to consumers, Composer Home Edition is, and as my understanding is that the only significant difference is the ability to add hardware (for that you'd need Pro).

But from a programming perspective, you'll be able to do most of the things your dealer can, and more importantly by looking through Composer Home Edition you'll likely be able to get a much better sense of how the programming can work, and what your dealer could do with it.

That said, most of the more interesting programming I've done on the system have been based on things I've read here and in a few blogs that I've found posted about here.

But I'd definitely say the place to get started is with Composer Home Edition, which you can purchase from your dealer.

Good luck!!

--Jason

• 1 year later...

Ryan,

Can you be more specific as to what these "few things" Composer Home cannot do? Besides adding new hardware to the system, anything else?