C4 Forums | Control4

Used Control4 hardware

Kingsley Ho

Hi, 

I am a newbie here and planning to setup Control4 myself during the renovation .

I saw eBay selling the controller for a lot cheaper, some are very cheap and some claim they have myhome license. 

My question is that do we need that license?

Is it hard to setup a 2 bedroom 4, 5 zones C4 suite with lighting , heating and locks (may be security) by myself ? IT person without control 4 knowledge but quick learner. 

Are all used control4 products can be reused? I just worry if I spent the money to get those on eBay and I can't use them because they have been used. 

Many thanks for answer my questions

You cannot program a system yourself - the required software is dealer only.

'license included' means that it has the built-in MyHome and Intercom License - intercom for C4 touchscreen communication, MyHome being the ability to use apps on android and iOS to control your system.

These licenses are NOT available separately - you'll need this on your main controller only)

There are restrictions on what controllers/touchscreens can still be used at all - and what they are able to do.

This is a software/firmware restriction - there is no 'block' on using used equipment.

'license included' means that it has the built-in MyHome and Intercom License - intercom for C4 touchscreen communication, MyHome being the ability to use apps on android and iOS to control your system.

These licenses are NOT available separately - you'll need this on your main controller only)

So basically getting one used without a BL-1 model number will never be able to use these features? Is the MyHome for the apps in general or the feature that lets you remote in from outside your house? Does the model with BL-1 usually cost more?

Hi, 

So if I bought used devices and can I ask dealer to update firmware so they can hook them up and program for me?