C4 Forums | Control4

Design help for engineer new to C4 with a less than helpful dealer

I am a longtime network engineer who recently purchased a home with a poorly designed C4 implementation. After some work, everything that should be working is working, but I have a design issue that is beyond my local C4 dealer's expertise. I'm hoping someone here with more C4 experience can help me with a second set of eyes. Here's the basic setup:

1. First floor has 3 TVs, each with: Sonos Playbars, Cat6 drops running to a 24-port managed GigE switch in the basement, and HDMI/IR running to the first floor media cabinet.

2. First floor media cabinet has a Wyrestorm 4x4 matrix, an EA5, 2 Apple TVs, a BluRay player, an HDTV antenna, and a small GigE switch connected to the basement switch.

3. Second floor has 3 standalone TVs, each with Sonos Playbars and Cat6 drops running to the basement switch.

I want to integrate the second floor TVs into the first floor's C4 setup. The dealer has offered a solution that amounts to 3 EA1s and 3 Apple TVs--basically 3 separate rooms--because there's "no way to transport HDMI or IR". Obviously, that's not true. Since each of the second floor TVs has a home run Cat6 to the basement, would it be possible to:

-let the second floor Playbars connect via WiFi
-put HDBaseT transmitters with the TVs
-put an HDBaseT receiver in the basement and connect the Cat6 cables for the TVs to that instead of the Ethernet switch
-add a matrix in the basement with an EA1/3/5(?)

Alternatively, are there reliable and functional HDMI-and-IR-over-IP devices that would allow me to (a) avoid having the Playbars run wirelessly and (b) simply get a bigger matrix for the first floor media cabinet and connect the IP-transported HDMI and IR from the second floor there instead?

Is there something else I'm missing? Other solutions?

Thanks!

You outline your system but not the issue you are experiencing.