C4 Forums | Control4

Just bought a house with control4 system. Complete newbie to this and primary issue is getting 7.1 sound to work

cnymike

Question

Hi, I am completely new to the Control4 world and also new to this forum so please have mercy on me.

We recently purchased a home which had a Control4 system installed. Apparently it is an older system and was installed roughly 12 years ago. I know essentially nothing about the system.

As a starting point let me tell you the configuration as best I can.

We have an AV receiver, Yamaha RX – V 2700. We have the HC 800. Apparently the system is running OS 3.3.0. The room that has the HD TV has a 7.1 surround sound. It was lacking a subwoofer and I just purchased an RSL 10SMK2.

I can only seem to get sound from the  front speakers (left, right, center channel and subwoofer.) It does not matter if I am watching TV or movies through the Roku Ultra which has been installed or listening to music through any of the various streaming music sources that I have configured such as Tune-In, Spotify, SiriusXM, Pandora. The only speakers putting out any sound are the front speakers and subwoofer. Nothing coming out of the side or back speakers.

I have tried selecting each of the options available to me in the Receiver that shows up in the Control4 app such as DSP Stereo, DSP Music, DSP Entertainment, DSP Movie, DSP THX, DSP Standard, etc. I should also note that the RSL Speedwoofer has a crossover knob which can bypass the internal crossover of the sub and enable LFE which extends the sub's bass response. However if LFE is enabled, no sound comes out of the subwoofer. The sub only works when the internal sub crossover is enabled (LFE not engaged.)