C4 Forums | Control4

HTPC Build for Control4

Helloooo!

I am a system builder, who has been commissioned to build a beefy HTPC, for use with Control4. 

I've been researching as much as I can find, over the past 48 hours, but a couple of questions are still in my mind and I thought maybe someone here could answer, or at least point me in the right direction.

My Media/HTPC Case of choice can handle 4 standard drives. Should I run a RAID array, for the best performance? I have 2 10TB Seagate Iron Wolf NAS Drives (SATA 6gb/s) chosen at the moment. The client is looking to load immediately, around 1500 DVD/BluRay discs. 

How much does a video card play into it, when using it only for Control4? Out of habit, I assumed lots of VRAM, good speed and cooling, etc. But, the more I look at other movie servers, the less I see any mention of GPU whatsoever. O.o 

Thank you in advance. =)

Is the HTPC going to be used for playback as well or will something like Kodi or Plex be used on another device, like a Roku, Shield, Xbox, etc?  I don't think you would need a video card at all as on board GPU would be good enough, unless the client wants to do VR.  A fairly high end Intel CPU has pretty good video on the CPU that can handle any video playback.

IMHO you are better off splitting this to two devices - a file server with the big hard drives and a lightweight PC or other device for playback at the TV, assuming that everything isn't centralized.  And then you can throw a big tower case with lots of room for drives and good cooling. unRAID is a good OS for a server like this.

I don't really get the context of the question.  There's not really anything Control4-specific about a HTPC build.  If you are using Kodi, Plex, MyMovies, etc that has Control4 support, you just build the server / NAS / etc. how you normally would for those products and then it is later integrated into Control4.

1 hour ago, turls said: