C4 Forums | Control4

Warranty on HC800

AP-123

One of my serial ports on my HC800 is bad.

My initiation date was 2 years ago today.  Had I known, I would have acted on this sooner.

I called my dealer and they said they'd send it in for me but that I'd have to wait for a replacement 4-6 weeks.  Is this normal?  Best case they would have one I could use until mine was fixed.

I'm also not convinced if I brought my unit to Magnolia, they would send it in for me.  It was 2 years ago today they initiated the director, but probably was purchased a week or more prior.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I would love to hear any feedback on how the warranty works.  

Is it a hard and fast 2 years or does that depend on the dealer.

Also is 4-6 weeks reasonable?  Do some dealers offer another working unit during the waiting period?

I have no experience but would welcome any thoughts.

Thank you

I'm also not convinced if I brought my unit to Magnolia, they would send it in for me.  It was 2 years ago today they initiated the director, but probably was purchased a week or more prior.

Wait, did anyone bother to actually CHECK if there's still warranty on there - it's about 5 minutes work for a dealer......

"initialisation date" has nothing to do with warranty, you may still be within the period to do this.

RMA is a week or less if stock is available, repair can take 4 weeks - slower if you're unwilling to pay for overnight shipping.

Wait, did anyone bother to actually CHECK if there's still warranty on there - it's about 5 minutes work for a dealer......

"initialisation date" has nothing to do with warranty, you may still be within the period to do this.

RMA is a week or less if stock is available, repair can take 4 weeks - slower if you're unwilling to pay for overnight shipping.

Certainly worth checking but if the controller was installed 2 years ago, it most certainly left C4's warehouse before that and is 100% out of warranty.