C4 Forums | Control4

Amazon Echo Integration w/C4 Amp

CFUG

Complete beginner with Alexa so be kind.  What is the general scheme meaning how are components arranged in order to call-up music in a particular zone from just one Echo/Echo Dot?  Using a C4 amp and just one dot located in a kitchen, how would I instruct music to play in another zone other than the kitchen?  All I understand at that the moment is that a Dot can be used as a source for a C4 amp input.  How would that connection be made if Echo is some distance away from amp and how would I instruct the amp to route that input to multiple zones?  Multiple Dots?  Epic Driver??

There are probably multiple ways but you could use a 3.5mm to RCA jack to go from an Echo to the RCA inputs of your amp at your "rack".  You then use the groups capability but in this instance the group that you want to playback to would be at your amp/matrix.  Then it becomes like any C4 audio playback and you could add on other zones, etc.  You could probably also use analog splitters to feed multiple zones, or use C4 to do that.

https://www.theverge.com/2017/8/29/16219978/amazon-echo-multi-room-music-playback-how-to

So, I connect a Dot to spare input on the C4 amp.  I'm sensing that interconnect cable is going to be a coax or a CAT5, long run back to my rack from where I place the Dot.  Is there not a way to get one Dot to accept the voice command and somehow link that Dot to another local Dot placed a few feet from the amp?