C4 Forums | Control4

how can i run 2 hdtv with HC300 or can I

Hi I am new to control4 but am excited to install and get it working.

How can I have 2 hdtv plasmas hooked up in different rooms and control them independently and have access to the control4 on screen menu for each - all using only an HC300? or is this possiible? I am assuming I will need a cable receiver for each tv which is fine - but i dont get it because the HC300 only has 1 video output - so i dont really get how I will get the on screen control4 menu on each tv.

Also - how does a cat5 cable work for getting rgb to the tv - i dont get that.

Thanks. Kevin

hmmm - any idea how exactly i would wire this situation? like from the HC300 to each hdtv?

maybe a dumb question - but my brain starting to hurt thinking about this...

I am thinking have the IR from each cable box go to the HC300 - and then the actual video feed from each cable box to each tv? if so I dont see how the control4 menu video can get to the tvs....

How can I have 2 hdtv plasmas hooked up in different rooms and control them independently and have access to the control4 on screen menu for each - all using only an HC300? or is this possiible? I am assuming I will need a cable receiver for each tv which is fine - but i dont get it because the HC300 only has 1 video output - so i dont really get how I will get the on screen control4 menu on each tv.

There are several ways to do this. One way is to use a video switch.

You could also use a video distribution amplifier that takes one input and sends it out 2 or more outputs.

Also - how does a cat5 cable work for getting rgb to the tv - i dont get that.

To accomplish this you would use a pair of devices called baluns. When you say "rgb" I am assuming you mean component. There is a difference between RGB and component. Many people think that RGB = component because the cable colors of component are Red, Green and Blue.