C4 Forums | Control4

Which Hue driver to use in 2019?

the free driver has some issues, and control is aware, but no eta on fix. 

mostly the lights will just not respond correctly. I have been using for 6 years and up until about 2 years ago it worked flawlessly. I have not used any other driver I believe there is a paid driver out there.

To be a little more clear, my main issues with the free driver are:

* Using the sliders in the OS3 app to dim the lights is not fluent at all - it's very "jumpy" (compared to using the Hue app or other apps that interact with Hue)

* The "multi color" drivers are garbage.  Who wants a separate light slider for RGB?  This is a terrible interface.  For this reason, I just use the single color driver.

* Occasionally (not very often), not all lights will turn on in a scene

Was just wondering if there were any better options out yhere.

Hue (and other 3rd party lighting) is apparently not truly supported in C4 Advanced Lighting anymore apparently. You have to program off of the scene vs having them in the scene.

Homeation/TheDriversLab had a driver, but I'm not even sure they're actively in the business anymore?

That said if you want a better interface for the RGB stuff:

https://drivercentral.io/platforms/control4-drivers/lighting/colour-wheel/

3 hours ago, Cyknight said:

Hue (and other 3rd party lighting) is apparently not truly supported in C4 Advanced Lighting anymore apparently. You have to program off of the scene vs having them in the scene.

I was not aware of this.  I have individual Hue and RA2 Select loads in Advanced Lighting scenes.  Do you know the technical reason(s) it's no longer supported?  This would be a huge bummer.

23 minutes ago, LollerAgent said:

I was not aware of this.  I have individual Hue and RA2 Select loads in Advanced Lighting scenes.  Do you know the technical reason(s) it's no longer supported?  This would be a huge bummer.