C4 Forums | Control4

Apple Carplay

My apologies if this has been covered in other topics but my searches yielded very few results.  Carplay/Android Auto seems like such a natural extension for the C4 platform.  Having access to garage doors, lighting and a few other items would be great to have on screen in our vehicles.  I have seen references to others using Carplay with C4 though 3rd party integrations.  Could anyone share what integration/driver that you are using and anywhere that I could go for more information?  I am a dealer and want to experiment with it on our demo system.

Thank you!

I have no experience on the Apple side of this, but I've been using Android Auto in my vehicles in this way for the last couple of years. I give a simple voice command, and it opens the garage door, unlocks the door to the house, turns off the alarm, and turns on the lights. Works really well, and we really like the ease of use here.

It might not be enough for you to switch to Android, but just wanted to mention that this does work well.

1 hour ago, Kaas Mayer said:

apple doesnt allow any genre of carplay apps. as far as i know homeautomation is forbidden. 

maybe we will see a homekit integration at the apple developer conf in june

Just because there's no CarPlay for apple home or c4 apps doesn't mean apple doesn't allow.

If you go the the CarPlay dashboard, your garage will show up when you are close to home. <- example of home automation in CarPlay.

1 hour ago, Don Cohen said:

I have no experience on the Apple side of this, but I've been using Android Auto in my vehicles in this way for the last couple of years. I give a simple voice command, and it opens the garage door, unlocks the door to the house, turns off the alarm, and turns on the lights. Works really well, and we really like the ease of use here.

It might not be enough for you to switch to Android, but just wanted to mention that this does work well.

two things here.....for apple.