C4 Forums | Control4

Push through RJ-45 connectors

zaphod

I just bought a pass through connector and plugs.  It takes me forever to make a successful plug as I find it hard to keep the wires in the correct order and push them through the plug without them bunching up or switching order.  And you really have to detwist the wires as well.  Anyone have any secrets or are these not as useful as they are made out to be?  How much of each wire do you want when you strip the outer sheath?

Or do I just have crappy push through plugs?

Honestly, it just takes practice. I am no expert, but have gotten pretty good over time. I have found that once you have unwrapped the eight wires from the outer sheath, getting them as absolutely straight as possible and then cutting them all to the same length, makes it easier. Because the wires were twisted, they have a lot of bends in them. Smoothing them out makes a huge difference. 

As for how much wire you want after the sheath is removed, since you are pushing the eight wires through the end of the RJ-45, it really doesn't matter if you have too much. I usually expose 1.5 to 2 inches and again, spend a long time straightening them out. 

If you are using the "pass through" type, at least you can check that they are in the correct order before crimping. Before I moved to the "pass through" type, I wasted a lot of males. 

Maybe just grab some extra wire, a few RJ-45s, take a seat on the couch, and practice. Best to practice in non-real world scenarios (advice I myself never followed). 

Good luck! And yes, people only seem to make YouTube videos after they can do it in their sleep! 

untwisting the pairs more then needed makes lining them up more difficult. dont untwist all the wires at once (pair by pair)

when you cut the wire back place the cable so that the orange pair is to the left and brown pair to the right. (rotate cable if needed)

next take the pair closes to you (green or blue) pull to you.