C4 Forums | Control4

Should I stay or should I go?

Long time lurker, first time poster.

A little under a year ago I purchased a house that came with a Control4 system installed - lighting, sound, some basic automation. This is my first time using Control4, and I have mixed feelings. After waffling on what to do for months, I figured it was finally time to ask the experts. Let me give some background info and then I'd welcome thoughts / ideas / suggestions / pie recipes.

First up, the current layout.

•     C4-HC800-BL Controller
  •     C4-HC250-BL Controller (I'm unsure what the difference between the two controllers are. This one isn't hooked up right now so maybe it's just legacy?)
  •     C4-16AMP3-B Multi-zone audio amp hooked up to 16 in-ceiling speakers
  •     C4-WMB-B Wireless music bridge
  •     20 single-button light switches
  •     4 three-button keypads
  •     3 six-button keypads

10 of the single-button switches are on the walls in the living areas. The other 10 are mounted on a wall in the utility room, but control lights in the living areas. From what I can tell, the 3- and 6- button switches wirelessly connect to the controller, and then the controller triggers the switches that are in the utility room.

I've been pretty invested in the Sonos ecosystem for many years and have disconnected all the audio equipment and switched all the speakers over to Sonos amps (and have been very happy with the results), but leaving the gear in this list in case it's helpful.

I'm a pretty technical guy - software engineer, love to tinker with home automation stuff, etc - and so it probably comes as no surprise that my gut is telling me I should pull the lighting system and replace it with something I can self-manage. BUT. I also realize that I'm frequently wrong, and maybe I'm not understanding the full capabilities or tooling available in Control4.

Here are my concerns with the current (lighting) setup: