C4 Forums | Control4

Ubiquity WiFi speed

vitali

Hi,

We used Ubiquiti WAPs  Ap- Ac Pro.,for a while. It worked not bad so far. They have pretty bad support, but I almost never called them. So good so far,. Till download speed was under 150-200 Mb.

Now all new clients (and old as well ) get higher speed internet, They mentioned, they can't get higher than 180/220 Mb. download speed. I tried to connect cable coming from switch  to my comp and I got proper numbers, but WiFi connection 2 meters from WAP still 180-220 Mb. I checked with my comp, checked with iPhone, checked with clients comp. 

I can assume 2 things, 

1. My and clients comps got WiFi adapters that do not support that speed ( iPhone 8 does not support as well )

2. Ubiquiti doesn't provide speed higher than 200 Mb.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

I'm not a pro so I would appreciate help also. I put in my own Ubiquiti gear and have AC-Pro as well as In-wall HD units. Even though I have 1 Gb connection and constantly over 900 Mb on wired network, I never get more than 250 Mb on Wifi. Tested with MacBook Pro, iPhone 10, iPhone 11. I can't figure out settings to get more and don't any local pros who use Ubiquiti.

Pretty sure the wifi AP don't do gig speeds. Only up to 300 Mbps

AC pro does 450 on 2.4 and 1300 on 5 Ghz.

Does seem the devices are connected at 2.4 not 5 Ghz. With Contention and interference it 200 seems reasonable.

Wonder what other networks are in range.

Sent from my E6603 using Tapatalk

Hi,
We used Ubiquiti WAPs  Ap- Ac Pro.,for a while. It worked not bad so far. They have pretty bad support, but I almost never called them. So good so far,. Till download speed was under 150-200 Mb.
Now all new clients (and old as well ) get higher speed internet, They mentioned, they can't get higher than 180/220 Mb. download speed. 

Is this actually a problem? UHD needs an 8Mb stream. Is this a use case thing or a theoretical problem that you and we are spending time on.

Hi,