C4 Forums | Control4

Considering Control4

Moomaw

Hi Everyone,

I'm considering Control4 in a house I'm building and I wanted to ask some honest questions in hope of getting some honest feedback.

Most importantly, I am not here to dog or question if Control4 is worth it. I've seen a show room and my questions are based on my personal hobbies that involve Control4.

I am an engineer, my entire life revolves around technology and I absolutely love it. When I spoke with my Control4 vendor, it seems that I would have little access to the system.

Q: For those of you who sell and support Control4, is it really true that end users have little ability to control what's going on with the Control4 product?

Q: Does Control4 have a public SDK?

Thanks!

The only thing you cannot do from the home edition is rename devices, change connections, and add a majority of the devices. However control4 is adding more features everyday so that mundane things can be more user editable. 

examples

Lock user management

When / Then

Add Music

Auto Add Drivers

Room Control driver

native alexa and google support.

Control4 is programmed with Software called Composer.

The Pro version is what dealers use, not available to end users.

There is a Home Edition (HE) for end users. One time minimal fee. HE has limits, somewhat to avoid accidentally deleting the wrong thing.
With HE the user can not add new devices to the system, or delete them, or rename them. Connections are how the audio video is routed, if you wanted to move your blu-ray from the DVD input on a receiver to the Video 4 jack, that requires dealer assistance.

There was another version called ME, which was media edition. It was free, but only used to work with the music library portion. It's gone, but you may hear it referenced. (Its included in HE)

So you can tweak things, program actions yourself, but you'll still need a dealer to add devices and some basic setup. Control4 is NOT intended to be DIY.